Sam Cooke Somebody Have Mercy


Según me dice mi querido amigo Vicente M. Sam Cooke es un genio desconocido, su voz es absolutamente inigualable, y son muchos los cantantes influidos por él.
Hay un doble de grandes éxitos, “The man and his music”, que da un repaso desde que deja su grupo de gospel “The Soul Stirres”, hasta la última canción que no llegó a estrenar “A change is gonna come”, que es imprescindible para el que le gusta el soul y el R&B.

Lyrics

Somebody have mercy and tell me what is wrong with me
Somebody have mercy and tell me what is wrong with me
Sometimes I don’t know how I stand the things this woman do to me

Let me tell you

When I think about how she do me, the tears fall down like rain, like rain
When I think about how she do me, the tears fall down like rain, like rain
When I think I’ve got her chained down, she starts actin’ up again

Oh let me tell you

I’m goin’ down to the bus station with a suitcase in my hand, yes I am
I’m goin’ down to the bus station with a suitcase in my hand, yes I am
I’m gonna grab me an armful of greyhound and ride just as close I can
Do that thing for me now

(Harmonica solo)

Let me tell you one more time

Somebody have mercy I wonder what is wrong with me, lord have mercy
Somebody have mercy I wonder what is wrong with me, yeah
Sometimes I don’t know how I stand the things this woman do to me

Do that one more time, my fellas

I’m standin’ here wonderin’, baby, with a matchbox hole in my clothes, yes
I am Standin’, wonderin’, baby, with a matchbox hole in my clothes, yes I am
Oh I got a long way to get there and I got-a some time to go.

Responder

